Week 10- Instagram

https://www.instagram.com/charleywatson/

These first four pictures are from my Instagram account, taken at the CSULB Art Galleries:

Screenshot_2016-03-26-23-43-43Screenshot_2016-03-26-23-43-47Screenshot_2016-03-26-23-43-51Screenshot_2016-03-26-23-44-00

These next two pictures are from accounts I found through the hashtag:

Screenshot_2016-03-24-11-53-02Screenshot_2016-03-24-11-53-13

Unlike the previous Snapchat project, which is an app that I don’t regularly use, I found this project utilizing Instagram to be much more enjoyable, considering that it is an app that I DO regularly use. I like Instagram because it shares pictures only, with a limited amount of text attached, acting as a watered-down and simplified version of the overwhelming Facebook. Anyone becomes a photographer when equipped with the free app and a cellular phone. The pictures I took around the gallery are a mix of candid moments from people in conversation and art on display that I found to be aesthetically pleasing. I especially like the photo I took of Professor Zucman speaking with a student in the doorway, silhouetted from the bright sunlight outside. The two photos I took from fellow students caught my eye because for one, I was an avid record collector in high school, and two, I appreciate pictures of people when they aren’t aware they are being photographed (once again Professor Zucman). This proved to be a very enjoyable art experience because the web of networks that these apps allow us to enter help everyone connect to new and fresh forms of art.

Leave a Reply

