Week 7- Group Video Activity

Friendship

Above is a link to my group video project, titled “Friendship”. My two other group members, Meng Chu and Chris Chadwick, starred in the video while I directed and edited it. I wanted to make a video with a very simple and straightforward plot, and without dialogue, to create something with a universal message. The filming itself came together very organically, while the editing process proved to be much more time consuming. I wanted to make the editing and cuts very invisible, in the traditional Hollywood style, and I also chose the black and white aesthetic to create a sense of nostalgia and sentimentality. The music, “I’m Getting Sentimental Over You” by Tommy Dorsey, reminds me of a Woody Allen film, particularly Manhattan, which is also why I decided to go with black and white instead of color. I am very satisfied with the finished product, and the editing came out better than I had hoped, especially since I am studying screenwriting.

Leave a Reply

